ANTH 301: Ethnographic Research Project (Healer Case Study)

ANTH 301: Ethnographic Research Project (Healer Case Study)

ANTH 301: Healer Case Study

Professor Godde is asking you to write a 10 page minimum field assignment about a healing modality takes place within (e.g. acupuncture) or alongside (e.g. curanderismo) our (U.S.) medical system. This field assignment involves learning about healing in a specific context and requires that you engage in participant observation and face-to-face interview.

At least five academic sources must be consulted. These sources will help orient yourself to the nature of healing and its cultural context, but they will not be the focus of the paper. Rather, the focus of the paper is on the healing method as you understand it provided to you by the healer. Non-scholarly, non-peer reviewed publications will not be accepted.

As always, please consult Cougar Courses for full assignment guidelines.

 

Longform Journalism

Longform Journalism

Longform Journalism

For students gathering background information and developing foundational knowledge on a research topic, longform journalism sources can be valuable for distilling critical ideas and formulating research questions. 

Lengthier than your average newspaper article, longform journalism integrates various multimedia tools including video and interactive graphics and data to propel feature storytelling and engage readers. Longform tends to be substantive in content, underscoring immersion reporting, investigative techniques, and sustained narrative (Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications).

Longform Article Examples

Here We Abandon All Destinations

The Everything Town in the Middle of Nowhere

Why Is It So Hard to Stop People from Dying of Snakebite?

The Case for Reparations

Longform Periodicals

These longform periodical titles are freely available on the Internet (limited article access) and via the CSUSM Library's databases. 

The Atlantic Monthly (Internet) / The Atlantic Monthly (CSUSM Library) Covers news, culture, politics, technology, and more through multimedia content, articles, and its flagship magazine.

The Economist (CSUSM Library) News and opinion on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology.

The Nation (Internet) / The Nation (CSUSM Library) Established in 1865, one of the oldest, progressive news sources covering a variety of political and social issues.

The New Yorker (Internet) / The New Yorker (CSUSM Library) Features journalism on politics and social issues; includes incisive cartoons in each issue.

New York Times Magazine (Internet) / New York Times Magazine (CSUSM Library) Features longer articles than those typically found in the newspaper.

Longform Websites

The Conversation Independent news source from the academic and research community curated for the general public. (Note: These are not peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles)

Epic Magazine Immersive narrative non-fiction articles.

Guernica Focuses on the intersection of art and politics. Content includes memoir, investigative reporting, commentary, and multimedia journalism that explores identity, conflict, culture, justice, science, and more.

JSTOR Daily Provides background information on a variety of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Articles contextualize current events with academic scholarship. (Note: JSTOR Daily does not contain scholarly articles; you will find those in the JSTOR library database).

Longform Sponsored by the University of Pittsburgh's writing program, this site recommends new and classic non-fiction from around the web. 

Longreads Gathers stories from all over the web and also produces original content which includes in-depth profiles and feature articles.

Mosaic Longform articles on science-related topics.

Pacific Standard Publishes investigative pieces focusing on social and environmental justice.

ProPublica Nonprofit newsroom producing investigative journalism pieces focusing on government and politics, business, criminal justice, the environment, education, healthcare, immigration, and technology. 

The Verge Focuses on culture and technology.

Additional resources

Gathering Research Sources (differentiating between scholarly / substantive (longform) / editorial)

 

 

 

ANTH 301: Identify and Find Scholarly Articles

ANTH 301: Identify and Find Scholarly Articles

GBST 100 Identify a scholarly article

A scholarly article is how researchers (scholars) communicate the findings and analysis of their research. Scholarly articles:

  • Provide original research and analysis - these articles are based on studies or experiments, or analyze an artifact or event. Every scholarly article presents something new about the world we didn't know before.
  • Are written by scholars - scholars tend to hold PhDs, or other advanced degrees and are professors at universities.
  • Are published in peer-reviewed journals - These are generally accessed via library databases.
  • Might be hard to read - they act as the primary conversation between scholars about a field of study. Since they are written by scholars, for scholars, they contain specialized language that might be hard for the lay person to understand.

Credit: Allison Carr

WATCH: What is a scholarly article?

TUTORIAL: Find a scholarly article using CSUSM library databases

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Sources (knowing the difference) (University of Texas Libraries)

ANTH 301: Find Scholarly Articles

 

How do I structure a keyword search?

Before you embark on your database search, take a few moments to identify keywords, which will be a timesaver for you. Some things to try:

  • Write down any research questions you have about your topic; these should be open-ended (starting with How...? or Why...?)

  • Identify the key concepts from your research question (look at the nouns)

  • Write down synonyms for those key concepts

Taking a few minutes to think about and identify some keywords before starting your search will help you search more efficiently, which will save you time (and frustration).

  • Identify important concepts from your research question (look for nouns)
  • Brainstorm some synonyms (to help you find more information)
  • Keep track of useful terms you discover during research and add those to your set of keywords

Ex. research question: How is Ayurvedic medicine a useful intervention for heart conditions?

(Identify the keywords in this research question)

"How is Ayurvedic medicine a useful intervention for heart conditions?

Ayurvedic intervention heart conditions
Ayurveda treatment hypertension
hatha yoga therapy cardiovascular

Tips on searching the databases

Here are some general tips on searching for articles for your report:

Tip Examples
Use keywords, not long search phrases

Instead of searching for "How is Ayurvedic medicine a useful intervention for heart conditions?" break down your search into the main keywords:

Ayurveda, Ayurvedic medicine, health, heart, cardiovascular, hypertension, India, phytotherapy, hatha yoga,  massage

Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together

Use AND to combine different keywords

"massage therapy" AND Ayurveda 
Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords Ayurveda AND (culture or ethnography)
Look for ways to limit your search in the database You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publicationsubject 

 

Library Databases for Anthropology

Library Databases for Anthropology

Most Useful

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
AnthroSource

Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.

Full-text current to current All
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
CINAHL Complete

CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.

Links to full-text via Get-It 1937 to current Most
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
ScienceDirect

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

Full-text 1995 to current Most

Also Useful

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Provides abstracts and full text for more than 200 communication journals.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1950 to current Some
PsycINFO

Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1887 to current All
ProQuest

Search all of ProQuest's databases.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Most
Wiley Online Library

Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics

Some full-text 1996 to current Most

Citing Your Sources

Citing Your Sources