You are here

ANTH 301: Culture and Medicine: Healers and Healing Practices

ANTH 301: Ethnographic Research Project (Healer Case Study)

ANTH 301: Healer Case Study

Professor Godde is asking you to write a 10 page minimum field assignment about a healing modality takes place within (e.g. acupuncture) or alongside (e.g. curanderismo) our (U.S.) medical system. This field assignment involves learning about healing in a specific context and requires that you engage in participant observation and face-to-face interview.

At least five academic sources must be consulted. These sources will help orient yourself to the nature of healing and its cultural context, but they will not be the focus of the paper. Rather, the focus of the paper is on the healing method as you understand it provided to you by the healer. Non-scholarly, non-peer reviewed publications will not be accepted.

 

ANTH 301: Identify and Find Scholarly Articles

GBST 100 Identify a scholarly article

A scholarly article is how researchers (scholars) communicate the findings and analysis of their research. Scholarly articles:

  • Provide original research and analysis - these articles are based on studies or experiments, or analyze an artifact or event. Every scholarly article presents something new about the world we didn't know before.
  • Are written by scholars - scholars tend to hold PhDs, or other advanced degrees and are professors at universities.
  • Are published in peer-reviewed journals - These are generally accessed via library databases.
  • Might be hard to read - they act as the primary conversation between scholars about a field of study. Since they are written by scholars, for scholars, they contain specialized language that might be hard for the lay person to understand.

Credit: Allison Carr

WATCH: What is a scholarly article?

TUTORIAL: Find a scholarly article using CSUSM library databases

Distinguishing scholarly articles from non-scholarly sources (CSU Chico, Meriam Library)

ANTH 301: Find Scholarly Articles

Boolean Searching in the Databases

 

Image credit: Information Resource Center Blog

Tips on searching the databases

Here are some general tips on searching for articles for your report:

Tip Examples
Use keywords, not long search phrases

Instead of searching for "How does Ayurvedic medicine promote physical wellness?" break down your search into the main keywords:

Ayurveda, Ayurvedic medicine, health, physical wellness, India, phytotherapy, panchakarma, hatha yoga, dharana, massage 

Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together

Use AND to combine different keywords

"massage therapy" AND Ayurveda
Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords Ayurveda AND ("medicinal plant" OR phytotherapy)
Look for ways to limit your search in the database You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publicationsubject 

 

Library Databases for Anthropology

Anthropology Databases

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
AnthroSource

Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
CINAHL Complete

CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1937 to current Most
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
ScienceDirect

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

Report Problems
Full-text 1995 to current Most
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Provides abstracts and full text for more than 200 communication journals.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1950 to current Some
PsycINFO

Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1887 to current All
ProQuest

Search all of ProQuest's databases.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Most
Wiley Online Library

Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current Most

Citing Your Sources

ANTH 200: Citing Your Sources

Professor Godde has indicated that you may choose any citation style that works best for you, but you must consistently use that format.

Here are some citation resources you may consult:

Chicago Style

APA

MLA


Feedback