Reference and Web Sites
The resources below are in-depth guides to the research literature.
How to find chemical information
QD8.5 .M34 5th Floor Stacks
Using the biological literature : a practical guide
QH303.6 .D38 2002 5th Floor Stacks
Core chemistry reference titles and useful chemistry web sites.
CRC Handbook of chemistry and physics
Current year in permanent reserve. Previous years in book stacks.
Lange's Handbook of chemistry
QD65 .L36 Reference
Dean's analytical chemistry handbook
QD78 .P37 2004 5th Floor Stacks
QD251 .O7 5th Floor Stacks
Dictionary of inorganic compounds
QD148 D53 1992 Reference
Dictionary of organic compounds
QD246 D5 1982 5th Floor Oversize
Compendium of organic synthetic methods
QD262 .C53 5th Floor Stacks
Comprehensive heterocyclic chemistry
QD400 .C65 1984 5th Floor Stacks
Comprehensive organometallic chemistry
QD411 .C65 1982 5th Floor Stacks
Dictionary of organometallic compounds
QD 411 D53 1984 Reference
Dictionary of natural products
QD 415 A25 D53 1994 Reference
Treatise on geochemistry
QE515 .T69 2004 Reference
Magill's survey of science. Life science series
QH307.2 .M34 1991 5th Floor Stacks
This huge reference work focuses on processes rather than organisms. Each entry has bibliography for further reading.
Encyclopedia of the biosphere
QH343.4 .B5613 2000 5th Floor Oversize
Encyclopedia of environmental microbiology
QR100 .B58 2002 5th Floor Oversize
The Merck index
RS51 .M4 2006 5th Floor Stacks
Hazardous chemicals desk reference
T55.3.H3 L49 1997 5th Floor Stacks
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of chemical technology
TP9 .E685 Reference
Chem sources U.S.A.
TP12 .C443 Reference
Encyclopedia of bioethics
World of microbiology and immunology
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Access online. Available to CSUSM students, faculty, staff only. This online encyclopedia has in-depth, peer reviewed articles with some cool multimedia entries.
Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI)
"A freely available dictionary of ‘small molecular entities’. The term ‘molecular entity’ encompasses any constitutionally or isotopically distinct atom, molecule, ion, ion pair, radical, radical ion, complex, conformer, etc., identifiable as a separately distinguishable entity. The molecular entities in question are either products of nature or synthetic products used to intervene in the processes of living organisms."
Web sites: Chemistry portals
CHEMINFO: Chemical Information Resources
From Indiana University, a comprehensive portal of chemistry resources.
via National Library of Medicine
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Contains: thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions, IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds, electronic and vibrational spectra for over 4500 compounds, constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds Ion energetics data for over 16,000 compounds, and thermophysical property data for 34 fluids.
Chemical records and structures, produced by National Library of Medicine's Specialized Information Service.
Databases in toxicology and environmental health.
Database on hazardous chemicals and occupational diseases.
Physical Reference Data
Database holding information on fundamental physical constants, atomic spectra, molecular spectroscopic data, ionization data, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, and condensed matter physics data.
Organic Compounds Database
Search this database by melting and boiling points; by index of refraction; molecular weight; formula; mass spectral peaks; etc.
Elsevier's 'science only' search engine. Also searches ScienceDirect full-text.
Material Safety Data Sheets
The largest collection of MSDS freely available on the web. Search 1.5 million MSDS by clicking on Free MSDS Search Engine. Free registration is required.
From Cornell University, search approximately 250,000 MSDS.
Last Update: 15 Oct 23:33