Miller's 202/306 class only
Finding Background Information
When you are unfamiliar with a topic, reference materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are a great starting point for your research. They give you a general overview of what is commonly known about the subject in academic communities.
To find reference materials, search the CSUSM Catalog using keywords such as:
- dictionary sports
- encyclopedia health
- handbook nutrition
Reference materials can help you:
- understand a term or concept
- find basic statistics or demographic information
- gain some historical perspective on the subject
- become familiar with research trends in the area of study
- find more sources of information on the subject
Research Tip: Each encyclopedia and dictionary entry has a list of references at the end. Look at it for suggestions for further reading on your topic!
The library offers both print and electronic reference materials. See below for reference source suggestions.
Recommended Online Reference
You can access the following electronic reference materials from anywhere with an internet connection. If you are accessing them off-campus, you may be asked to enter your Cougar ID and password.
MedlinePlus Encyclopedia - This is a free web encyclopedia published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. No log-in necessary!
Need to find more online reference materials? Try one of the CSUSM Library Catalog searches suggested above and look for items that say Online Resources Available.
Recommended Print Reference
The following reference materials can be found in the library.
Physical education framework for California public schools
GV224.A1 P59 1994 REFERENCE
Sports and education : a reference handbook
GV346 .F73 2003 4th Floor Stacks
International encyclopedia of women and sports
GV709 .I58 2000 REFERENCE
Plunkett's sports industry almanac
GV716. P58 REFERENCE
Sports science handbook
GV558 .J46 2005 REFERENCE
Encyclopedia of sports science
GV558 .E53 1997 REFERENCE
Exploring sport and exercise psychology
GV706.4 .E96 2002 4th Floor Stacks
Handbook of sports economics research
GV716 .H36 2006 REFERENCE
Sport Industry Almanac
GV716 .P58 2005 REFERENCE
Encyclopedia of human nutrition
QP141 .E526 1999 REFERENCE
Biomechanics and exercise physiology
QP301 .J57 1991 5th Floor Stacks
Biomechanics and motor control of human movement
QP303 .W59 2005 5th Floor Stacks
Magill's medical guide : health and illness
RC41 .M34 1995 REFERENCE
ACSM's guidelines for exercise testing and prescription
RC684.E9 A45 2000 REFERENCE
The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
RC1206 .O94 1998 REFERENCE
CRC Desk reference on sport nutrition
TX361 .A8 K47 2005 REFERENCE
Last Update: September 23, 2011 05:38