This page provides recommended sources to complete your Case Analysis and New Venture Development Plan for local companies. The emphasis is on local for international there is some material here but other sources as well.
The Firms Environment--Industry
BUS 302 Industry Tabs
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Over 750 Industry Market Research reports and global industries (at the 5 digit NAIC level)
Business Source Premier: This EbscoHost database will provide company SWOT, industry reports, and trade publication and business article
Passport GMID (Global Management Information Database) Euromonitor
San Diego Workforce Partnership issues reports on San Diego County industry and employment.
Industry Concentration Ratios. US Economic Census
Association websites (National Restaurant Association for example), references to associations in news articles.
Trade magazine websites AND library article databases-the only place to find special reports.
Business Databases: Euromonitor Passport, Business Source Premier, ABI Inform Global, Factiva, Lexis Nexis or others.
Blogs and general web sites
Demographics and Market Potential
MediaMark Reporter MRI+ view the DEMO link before starting. CSUSM registration required use your CSUSM Courgars address.
Detailed US Consumer Purchase and Behavior. Use this database to research consumer product and service purchases and cross index with media reading and viewing practices. Data at national, regional includes demographics. For example it can return results on the brand of detergent used in the last 6 months, what magazines are read, web pages visited and time of day the listening for radio or even which major websites are visited.
ReferenceUSA Consumer Lifestyles
Find general consumer lifestyles by geographic area down to the zip code or radius.
Business Plans and Profiles Index
This is THE SITE from the Carnegie Public Library, Pittsburgh. It lists and links to thousands of sample business plans. Go directly to the electronic links, or search our library catalog for those books in print, we have many of them at CSUSM
Business plans in the CSUSM library. Sample plans, and guides to writing effective plans.
Hurdle: The book on business planning / Tim Berry
Library of Congress Guides for sample business plans. Note especially the Internet Resources link to the Business Plans and Profiles Index.
Small Business Administration Starting a Business
U.S. Economic Census Detailed Retail Trade and Operating Expenses
Related business and industry, manufacturing, and wholesale available as well.
Permits and Licensing
CalGold for Permits and Licenses An interactive business permitting and licensing database that guide the entrepreneur through required permits and licenses via industry type, California County, and city requirements.
California Franchise Tax Board
SBA Search for Business Licenses and Permits Enter zip code and regulated business if applicable.
Occupational / Employees
Occupation recommended resources
You will find a list of recommended occupational sources, Onet, BrightMind, GlassDoor. Job dscriptions, skills, salaries, forecasted demand and projections
Read competitor biographies and PR pieces in trade news articles (ReferenceUSA; ABI Inform/Proguest; LexisNexis; Factiva)
San Diego Workforce Partnership Job seekers, employers, training and education, economic indicators, industry statistics
O*NET dictionary of occupational titles HB2595 .O16 REFERENCE
Occupational outlook handbook HF5381 .U62 REFERENCE
Occupational Outlook: San Diego County HD5725.C2 O33 REFERENCE
Product or Service
GlobalSpec (Free registration). Global product and service suppliers.
Budget and Finances
Financial and Industry Ratios To locate SIC/NAIC, sources and databases with company and industry financials and ratios. How to locate industry codes, whether you start with company or industry info and how to interpret):
RMA Annual Statement Studies REFERENCE HF5681 B2 R6
Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios / Leo Troy.
REFERENCE 5681.R25 A45 2014
Handbook of Small Business Valuation Formulas and Rules of Thumb / Desmond, Glenn
REFERENCE HG4028 .V3 D478 1994
Industry Statistics Portal Lands you on all census data sources for an industry
Business and Industry Data by Geography Great landing page for details below
Location, Location, Location
Commercial Real Estate Brokerages
See San Diego Business Journal Book of Lists for list of the 19 Commercial Real Estate Brokerages in San Diego County (other metro areas available)
Commercial Real Estate figures--San Diego Regional Economic Development Council
Last Update: October 15, 2010 07:29